Real Weddings: Stephanie & Jon Part II

More from Stephanie and Jon’s wedding!

Did anything funny or unexpected thing happen? Jon and I had talked about the cake cutting and we had agreed that we were going to be nice and gently place cake in each other’s mouth. Somehow that message got mixed and during the cake cutting ceremony, Jon put the cake in my mouth and I thought he pushed it into my mouth trying to get me messy so I pushed my cake into his face and then he threw the remainder of his piece at my face. So needless to say we didn’t have a clean cake cutting ceremony. We had a messy one, but it was fun. We still disagree that he pushed his cake in my mouth. 🙂

What was your first dance song? “When I Say I Do” by Matthew West

Favorite detail of weddingI absolutely love sunflowers and Gerber daisies and I wanted to use them in my wedding. My colors were dark brown with bright pink, yellow and orange. I alternated the three accent colors on the tables so some tables had pink decorations, some had yellow and some had orange. I used Gerber daisies as the centerpiece with sugar rimmed glasses, small brown boxes as our gifts with our own personalized m&m’s inside in the colors of our wedding. We also walked into our reception with everyone blowing bubbles. The head table had only sunflowers along the whole table. We had 18 people in our bridal party, so it was a long table.

What was your most memorable moment? My most memorable moment was when Jon met my Dad for the first time. We had just started dating and my Dad and some of our family were coming to California to visit. My Dad got into town later (around 9pm) than my other family. We had all eaten and had spent the day in the pool. I lived with my friend’s parents at this time so everyone was at their house with me. We made my dad a plate of food and he took one bite of his corn on the cob and broke his front tooth off. I felt so bad for my dad so Jon and I got online and found and Emergency Dentist. We took my Dad to the dentist, but it was about 45 minutes to an hour away. On the way there, traffic came to a blaring stop and we ended up in a car accident. Luckily, no one was hurt except Jon’s carL My Dad felt so bad. After getting lost a few times, we finally made it to Dentist office around 11pm. The Dentist scheduled my Dad for urgent surgery early the next morning and my Dad had his other front tooth removed and had two implants put in. It was not a super fun trip for my dad, but my dad and Jon did get a lot of good “bonding” time and they have a pretty good story to tell and laugh about together. My Dad even told it at our wedding.


Great choice on the flowers, Gerber daisies are my favorite too!  Your hair looked so pretty!

Thanks for sharing Stephanie!

Leave a comment

Filed under Photography, Real Weddings, Wedding

Leave a Reply

