Real Weddings: Brittany & Matt Part I

Real Weddings Friday!

I’m excited to share a beach wedding, we haven’t had one yet!  My friend Brittany and I grew up together and now she’s married, crazy how fast time goes by. 🙂

Brittany and Matt decided to have a beach wedding.  The ceremony was at Point Dume on Zuma Beach in Malibu. The reception was at Duke’s Malibu on the Beach. They had a small dinner reception and just laughed and visited and loved.  Richard Grasso was there to capture their day.

Where did you two meet? Matt and I met through a mutual friend: Matt Delph. We were introduced at a restaurant after homecoming in October, 2006. It was just a quick hello, then we both went our separate ways. Matt kept asking Delph about me, but Delph didn’t want to set us up because I had a boyfriend at the time. Then, in January 2007, I ran into Delph and asked him if Matt was single…I got a phone call from Matt the same day!


How did he propose? Matt proposed two days after Thanksgiving in 2007. We went to a nice dinner, then Glendale Glitters in Downtown Glendale where we went on a horse-drawn carriage ride. I was so sure that he was going to propose, because he had the whole night all planned out (something he never had done) and he had made sure I had the night off a month in advance! Anyway, I kept thinking “this is it, he’s going to propose…” but he never did. Then we headed to his house to watch a movie, and I was pretty grumpy because I had been wrong about the proposal. Then, when we walked into the house, the whole place was lit up with hundreds of candles and roses with Frank Sinatra playing in the background, and he got down on one knee and proposed. It was such a huge surprise because I had completely given up on anything happening that night!

What was your most memorable moment? The most memorable moment at our wedding for me was my grandpa crying. I managed to hold myself together through the whole thing…even my parents and little sister crying. Then, after the ceremony when Matt and I were making our rounds saying hello and giving hugs, I finally came to my grandpa and he was crying like a baby. One of my favorite photographs from our wedding is of my grandpa giving me a hug with tears running down his face. :]


Don’t forget to check back for Part II!


Leave a comment

Filed under Real Weddings, Wedding

Leave a Reply

