Real Weddings: Briana & Matt Part I

It’s Real Weddings Friday!

My friend Briana and I met at Grand Canyon University about 5 years ago.  She looked like a princess and I’m really excited to share her wedding with you all!

Briana and Matt got married at North Ridge Church in Cave Creek, AZ. The Photo King was there to capture their day!  Now on to the good stuff. 🙂

Where did you two meet? Matt and I met through my friend, Scott Savage at Grand Canyon University. He tried to get us to hang out and we both felt it was awkward. So Scott sat next to me at Applebees after SALT, but when the band arrived he suddenly “had to move” and motioned for Matt to sit there. I was frustrated at first, but we talked and had a GREAT time. He didn’t ask for my number after I left and I was so bummed. The next week Jess and I got snowed in (in March on SPRING BREAK!) in Overrguard,AZ we called Scott and he called Matt to come get us. Matt drove 3 hours, dug out us and our car, and drove us safely all the way home. What a selfless stud!!

How did he propose? The proposal was fabulous! We had been talking about getting married since August, fast forward to February. I was so past waiting for it that I had just about shut down. Haha. Jessica’s grandma called me and asked what weekends I could go to San Diego on a surprise trip with Jess. She said we’d worked so hard and she was so proud of us, so she wanted to send us away for a nice relaxing weekend. I was so excited! A weekend with my best! After the first night and day we had gone shopping, been relaxing and soaking up sun. We came back late one evening ready to make dinner. When I opened the back gate Matt was standing there with a dozen roses! I couldn’t believe it! The moment I saw him I got goosebumps and KNEW this was it! He took me down to the beach and read me some awesome scripture. We prayed and cried and he told me the most wonderful words in the universe. He then pulled out a GORGEOUS ring and asked me to be his wife! Then he and his best friend cooked us dinner, we went out for desert, and spent the weekend having fun in San Diego (turns out the WHOLE trip was all him! Jess’ grandma was just in on it to confuse me!).

Any advice you would give to other brides? My best piece of advice for brides is to prepare yourself and plan for your marriage to your best friend more than for the wedding. The wedding is one beautiful night, but your marriage is a wonderful partnership that lasts forever.

Don’t forget to check back for Part II!


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

