Real Weddings: Alyson & Mike Part I

It’s Real Weddings Friday!

Alyson and Mike got married at The Wright House in Mesa, Arizona.  Such a gorgeous day for a fall wedding and Clive Van Renburg did a great job capturing the day.

Where did you two meet? We met in junior high when I was in 7th grade and he was in 8th grade, we had a crush on each other for a while that year but we didn’t start “dating” until I was in 8th grade and he was a freshman. We lost touch for a few years, but reconnected my senior year of high school and dated for 4 years until he proposed.



How did he propose? He proposed on new years eve, December 31, 2008. In 4 years of dating we had never spent a new years together because he was in the army and either deployed or in different states. So I flew up to Seattle for this new years and we planned to spend it together with a nice dinner and evening together. When I got to the airport he was acting a little weird, and walked away to grab a drink and while he was gone this random guy came up to me, handed me a rose and walked away. A few hours later we were at the mall shopping in Nordstrom, and he walked away again and yet another guy came up and gave me another rose, without saying anything and just walked away. I really didn’t think much of it, cause I’ve met some odd people in Seattle haha, and we hadn’t talked much about getting engaged that soon so I really had no idea. Later on, when he took me to my hotel I was checking in and the girl at the counter handed me another rose, and at this time I figured it was probably all of his doing throughout the day. So, we get ready for our nice dinner and he is acting totally normal so I don’t think anything of it. When we get to dinner, he has a huge bouquet of red and white roses on the table and I thought he was just being cute. Except, once we sat down he started acting really weird, looking out the window playing with his phone. etc…so we order, get our food and he gets up to go to the bathroom, TWICE! Ha I knew at this point something weird was going on, and a few minutes later one of his best friends walks up to the table and hands me a rose..That’s when Mike got up and got down on one knee and proposed! The whole restaurant started clapping and congratulating us, and the couple next to us bought us champagne! It was a really unexpected cute proposal that he really put effort into! 🙂

What was your most memorable moment? I think for me the most memorable moment was when we got in our limo at the end of the night, looked out at all of our friends and family waving sparklers who celebrated with us and shared in that day, and then looked at each other and both said, “WE’RE MARRIED!” The entire wedding and reception went by so fast, and that one moment we shared together at the end of the night it all kind of came into perspective and we both realized what a magical day it had been!


Don’t forget to check back for Part II!


Leave a comment

Filed under Real Weddings, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

